DFG Collaborative Research Centre 1444 - Directed Cellular Self‐Organisation to Advance Bone Regeneration 

Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu
  • DFG Collaborative Research Centre 1444

    Directed Cellular Self‐Organisation to Advance Bone Regeneration

  • DFG Research Unit 2165

    The Research Unit 2165 Regeneration in Old Age gave rise to the Collaborative Research Centre 1444

Directed Cellular Self‐Organisation to Advance Bone Regeneration

This DFG Collaborative Research Centre 1444 aims to unravel the basic mechanisms that differentiate between success and failure in regeneration of musculoskeletal tissue using bone healing as a role model. Bone represents one of the very few tissues in the body that has an intrinsic capability of scar free healing. bone acts at the interface between mechanical stability and the immuneand metabolic balance from the molecular to the tissue level.

Scientific background of the CRC 1444

Clinical Background and aim of the CRC

Musculoskeletal diseases and disorders are on the continuous rise due to the epidemic of obesity resulting in reduced mobility, and the increased physical activity of the elderly in an increasingly aging population. The healing potential of bone varies greatly in the different patient groups, but there is a substantial lack of understanding how the endogenous healing processes are altered due to age, metabolic status or immune experience of the individuals. In principle, regenerative therapies could offer new solutions for healing processes in clinically challenging situations; currently, however, these approaches often fall short in more complex clinical cases. For the development of successful regenerative therapies, it therefore seems essential to identify the obstacles of endogenous regeneration cascades. This Collaborative Research Center aims to unravel the basic mechanisms that differentiate between success and failure in bone regeneration. Since bone is one of the few tissues in the body that has the general capability of scar-less healing resulting in complete functional and structural reconstitution it is an ideal model system to understand the general principals of endogenous healing, which is relevant also for regeneration processes of other tissues.

Cellular self-organisation during bone healing

Bone healing is initiated by cellular self-organisation that guides the regenerative processes throughout all consecutive regeneration phases. The early phases of bone regeneration are essential for the long-term healing success, but also delays of healing or non-unions are already initiated during these very early stages. Central to all regenerative cascades driven by cellular self-organisation are (1) a well-controlled local inflammatory response, (2) well-balanced nutrition supply and consumption, and (3) a well-structured matrix re-organization by force transmission and sensing. These are the three key mechanism that need to be closely coordinated to achieve successful endogenous tissue regeneration in bone. To prove this hypothesis, we want to understand the interdependencies between these key mechanisms of healing, which have only been studied from a one-dimensional perspective so far. The aim of this CRC is to reveal (1) how the interplay between these three key mechanisms is controlled and regulated; (2) how their interdependencies are adjusted during healthy aging so that regeneration remains - in principle – possible; and (3) how each of the three key mechanisms are challenged by distinct stressors that are associated with delayed or non-healing conditions. Over the 12-year period of this Collaborative Research Center, we will concentrate in the beginning on the understanding of the interdependencies between these three key mechanisms of healing. Within the second funding period, we aim to understand the effect of stressors on the interdependencies of the three key mechanisms of healing. Finally, in the third funding period we aim at controlling and steering the three key mechanisms and their interdependencies, specifically in impaired healing cascades of challenged clinical settings. We will validate our understanding of the "control" mechanism in both pre-clinical and first-in-men clinical studies and thereby lay the foundation for personalized therapeutic approaches.

DFG Sonderforschungsbereich 1444 – Gezielte zelluläre Selbstorganisation zur Förderung der Knochenregeneration 

Metanavigation:

Hier finden Sie den Zugang zur Notfallseite, Kontaktinformationen, Barrierefreiheits-Einstellungen, die Sprachwahl und die Suchfunktion.

Navigation öffnen
  • DFG Sonderforschungs-
    bereich 1444

    Gezielte zelluläre Selbstorganisation zur Förderung der Knochenregeneration

  • DFG Forschungsgruppe 2165

    Der Sonderforschungsbereich entstand aus der Forschergruppe Regeneration im Alter.

Gezielte zelluläre Selbstorganisation zur Förderung der Knochenregeneration

Der DFG Sonderforschungsbereich 1444 zielt darauf ab, am Beispiel der Knochenheilung die grundlegenden Mechanismen zu entschlüsseln, die zwischen Erfolg und Misserfolg bei der Regeneration von muskuloskelettalem Gewebe ausschlaggebend sind. Der Knochen stellt eines der wenigen Gewebe im Körper dar, das eine intrinsische Fähigkeit zur narbenfreien Heilung besitzt. Einzigartig ist dabei, dass der Knochen an der Schnittstelle zwischen mechanischer Stabilität und dem immunologischen sowie metabolischen Gleichgewicht agiert und alle Ebenen vom Molekül bis zum Gewebe einschließt.

Wissenschaftlicher Hintergrund des SFB 1444

Klinischer Hintergrund

Mangel an Bewegung und Gewichtszunahme und die wachsende Zahl an sportlich aktiven Senioren in einer immer älter werdenden Gesellschaft verursachen eine überdurchschnittliche Zunahme muskuloskelettaler Erkrankungen. Dabei variiert das Heilungspotential stark in den verschiedenen Patientengruppen. Ein tiefergehendes Verständnis über Veränderungen der endogenen Heilungsprozesse durch z.B. das Alter, den metabolischen Status oder die immunologische Erfahrung fehlt weitestgehend. Grundsätzlich könnten Regenerative Therapien neue Lösungen für Heilungsprozesse in klinisch anspruchsvollen Situationen bieten; derzeit bleiben diese Ansätze aber oft in komplexeren klinischen Fällen hinter den Erwartungen zurück. Für die Entwicklung erfolgreicher regenerativer Therapien erscheint es daher essentiell, die Hindernisse endogener Regenerationskaskaden zu identifizieren. Das Ziel dieses SFBs ist es – am Beispiel der Knochenregeneration – die grundlegenden Mechanismen, die zum Erfolg oder Scheitern endogener Regenerationskaskaden führen, zu entschlüsseln. Knochen ist eines der wenigen Gewebe, das zur narbenlosen Heilung und damit kompletter funktioneller und strukturellen Wiederherstellung fähig ist. Es ist damit ein ideales Modellsystem, um generelle Prinzipien endogener Heilung zu verstehen, die auch für Regenerationsprozesse anderer Gewebe als Blaupause von großer Bedeutung sein können.

Zelluläre Selbstorganisation während der Knochenheilung

Knochenheilung wird durch zelluläre Selbstorganisation initiiert, die die regenerativen Prozesse durch alle folgenden Heilungsphasen leitet. Die frühe Heilungsphase ist für den langfristigen Heilungserfolg essentiell; auch verzögerte Frakturheilung wird bereits in dieser sehr frühen Phase initiiert. Zentral für alle regenerativen Kaskaden, die durch zelluläre Selbstorganisation gesteuert werden, sind (1) eine gut kontrollierte Immunantwort, (2) eine Balance von Nährstoffversorgung und –verbrauch (3) sowie eine gut strukturierte Neuorganisation der Matrix mit Wiederherstellung der Gewebevorspannung. Für eine erfolgreiche Geweberegeneration müssen diese drei Kernaspekte gezielt gesteuert und eng abgestimmt wechselwirken. Zum Beweis dieser Hypothese wollen wir das Zusammenspiel dieser Mechanismen verstehen, die bisher oft nur einzeln betrachtet wurden. Deshalb wollen wir entschlüsseln, (1) wie ihre Wechselwirkungen kontrolliert und reguliert werden, (2) wie diese Wechselwirkungen sich während normaler Alterungsprozesse anpassen, so dass Regeneration bis ins hohe Alter prinzipiell möglich bleibt und (3) wie jeder der drei Mechanismen durch Stressoren behindert wird. Innerhalb einer 12 Jahresperspektive dieses SFBs wollen wir uns initial auf das Verstehen der Wechselwirkungen der drei Kernaspekte der Heilung konzentrieren. In der zweiten Förderperiode beabsichtigen wir, den Effekt von Stressoren auf diese Wechselwirkung der drei Kernaspekte der Heilung zu verstehen. Schließlich möchten wir in der dritten Förderperiode die Kontrolle und Steuerung der drei Kernaspekte der Heilung und ihrer Abhängigkeiten erreichen, insbesondere bei verzögerter Heilung in klinisch kritischen Situationen. Wir planen das so gewonnene Verständnis von neuen „Steuermöglichkeiten" sowohl in präklinischen als auch First-in-Men Studien zu überprüfen und damit die Grundlage für personalisierte Therapieansätze zu legen.